Semester 1 – done and dusted

That’s right past self, you survived your first semester of university, congratulations! You finished with average marks, but, it was your first 6 months living out of home, your first time in a new city, and your first time being completely and totally independent. You learned loads, drew nearer to God, and made a whole heap of amazing, lifelong friends, and you had the best 6 months of your life.

If only my terrified past self could have read this. I was absolutely terrified at the prospect of leaving my home town all by myself, and the idea of attempting to get into (and survive in) a huge, prestigious university in Sydney. I was so close to just giving up, going to the local uni, living at home, continuing my part time job, and staying right in my comfort zone, but I am so so glad that I didn’t. I am thriving in this new environment, and while it was a scary leap of faith, it has been so rewarding.

Sure, I didn’t get much better at cooking and ate roasted sweet potato for dinner and lunch on more than one occasion, and sure, I considered dropping out of my degree a couple of times. I cried (in public), had anxiety attacks, forgot to shower, wore the same outfit for a week and broke down on multiple occasions, but I survived. I have given up on trying to be some model, aesthetic university student like the ones I see on Youtube, and thank goodness! Those perfectly organised desks, unrealistically healthy (and expensive) foods, and perfect makeup and hair every day was just too much for me to live up to. Protip for first-year university students, just embrace the beautiful mess that you are, daggy clothes, messy hair, no makeup, you do you! All those people that look like they have it all together are just faking it too!

I have well and truly given up on trying to be some model, aesthetic university student like the ones I see on Youtube, and thank goodness! Those perfectly organised desks, unrealistically healthy (and expensive) foods, and perfect makeup and hair every day was just too much for me to live up to. Pro-tip for first-time uni students;Β embrace the beautiful mess that you are. Embrace your messy note taking, daggy fashion sense and lack of makeup, just do you.

This has been my review of my first semester of uni, hopefully it inspired you in some way,

Love always,

sunniejean xoxo

Leave a Reply

